Select Page

Tuolumne County Board of Trustees

The mission of the Tuolumne County Board of Education is to provide a leadership role in education; to support the County Office of Education in its governance; and to advocate and champion for the education of all students.

Trustees by Area

Tuolumne County has a seven-member Board of Education, with each trustee representing one of seven distinct areas within the county. Each trustee serves a four-year term. The County Board of Education is the elected governing body of the County Superintendent of Schools Office. The Board establishes the policies which guide the County Schools Office and approves the annual operating budget. In addition to its policy-making and budgetary functions, the Board approves and confirms changes in school district boundaries, identifies educational needs and services in the county, and serves as an appeal board for such actions as inter-district attendance requests and student expulsions.

The Tuolumne County Board of Trustees are proud members of the California County Boards of Education. Visit for more informaiton.

Donald Rolle

Trustee Area One

Geographic area: Sonora Elementary School District except for a portion south of Highway 108, and excluding the Mill Villa, Gibbs Estates, and Valponi Acres area. Term expires 2020.

Nicholas Chernoff

Trustee Area Two

Geographic Area: Columbia and Belleview School Districts. Provisional appointment concludes 2018.

Juliana Feriani

Board Clerk

Trustee Area Three 

Geographic Area: Summerville High District, Summerviile Elementary School District and a portion of Soulsbyville School District south of Highway 108Term expires 2020.

Ian Morcott

Trustee Area Four 

Geographic Area: Big Oak Flat-Groveland Unified School District and a portion of Curtis Creek School District south of Highway 108Term expires 2018.

Martha Golay

Trustee Area Five

Geographic Area: Jamestown School district and the portion of the Sonora Elementary School District within the Mill Villa, Gibbs, and Valponi precincts.

Chucker Twining

Trustee Area Six

Geographic Area: Twain Harte-Long Barn School District. Term Expires: 2018.

Cyndi Simonson

Board President

Trustee Area Seven

Geographic Area: Portions of Curtis Creek and Soulsbyville Elementary School Districts north of Highway 108. Term expires 2018.

Board Meetings

The County Board meets at 4:00 pm on the second Monday of each month at the County Schools Office in Room 217. Please note that the board does not meet in July and if the second Monday falls on a holiday then the meeting will take place on the first Monday of the month.

Board Meeting Agendas

February 2018

02-18 Agenda 2-18 Special Meeting Agenda Board Workshop

Board Meeting Minutes

Tuolumne County Superintendent of Schools