Select Page

Excellence in Teaching and Career Achievement Awards Dinner Returns

Apr 28, 2022

The Tuolumne County Superintendent of Schools and the County Board of Education host event to honor outstanding educators in Tuolumne County

After two years of virtual celebrations, TCSOS and the County Board of Education hosted the annual Excellence in Teaching and Career Achievement Awards. Held Tuesday, April 26, 2022, at Teleli Golf Club, the event honored teachers from every school district in Tuolumne County. Each awardee has gained the respect and admiration of the education community for their dedication, enthusiasm, and professional standards and who, by their exemplary careers, have served as role models to students.

We have hosted this event since 1979, and the last two years have been the most challenging in over 100 years of education. Thank you, teachers, for the dedication, compassion, and perseverance you have shown during these extraordinary times. Your students,  parents, community, and colleagues are truly grateful.

Cathy Parker

Tuolumne County Superintendent of Schools

Along with honoring this year’s award recipients, TCSOS and the County Board of Education recognized winners from 2020 and 2021.

The recipient of the 2022 Career Achievement Award is Julie Chaffee. This award is given annually to a veteran teacher who has made a lifelong commitment to public education, students, and the community.

The 2022 Excellence in Teaching Award Recipients are:

  • Mahaila Ford – ATCAA-Head Start
  • Chase Bulkin – Belleview Elementary
  • Melissa Stegall – Big Oak Flat/Groveland
  • Shary Trent – Columbia Elementary
  • Kathy Kenna – Columbia College
  • Tyler Vogel – Curtis Creek
  • Lisa Breaux – Gold Rush Charter
  • Loraine Lewis – Jamestown Elementary
  • Catherine Acly – Sierra Adult School
  • Kelli O’Brien – Sonora Elementary
  • Will Sarkisian – Sonora High School
  • Danielle Riley – Soulsbyville Elementary
  • Kevin Williams – Summerville Elementary
  • Leah Gissler – Summerville High
  • Bonnie Cozad – TCSOS
  • Elisa Villa-Root – Twain Harte Elementary

The 2022 Career Achievement Award Recipient is:

  • Julie Chaffee – Sonora Elementary

For more details about the awards and a complete list of winners since 1979, visit our Excellence in Teaching Awards website.

Article Resources

Recent Articles

Mental Health Awareness Month

May is Mental Health Awareness Month! We invite students, educators, and families to take this opportunity to increase their awareness and understanding of mental health and its impact on overall health and wellness

April 2022: Shayla Nute

“Shayla’s cheerfulness, encouragement, and optimism are contagious and help create and maintain a positive classroom environment. She is respectful toward the teachers and her peers.” said teacher Steven Piech. “Shayla is very outgoing and a pleasure to have at school. She works diligently on her school assignments, always putting forth her best effort”.

March 2022: Mia Mastro

“Mia is a wonderful student, and we are very proud of her hard work this month! She is a fantastic and supportive friend to her classmates, empathizing with them when they are struggling and often trying to help teach others how to play chess,” said teacher Paul Nelson. “Mia is doing a great job with her academics and behavior, working hard and using the skills and strategies we are teaching in the classroom!”

Article Tags