Select Page

Districts & Schools

Tuolumne County

Districts & Schools

Tuolumne County is home to 11 school districts and a public charter school.

Tuolumne County has a much longer public school history than most regions in California. Schools have been in existence in Tuolumne County since 1852. It was not until the second legislative session of the California State legislature that state funds were appropriated for public schools in California. Tuolumne County received the first support for public schools in 1855. The schools at that time were Sonora, Columbia, Shaw’s Flat, Springfield, Jamestown, Jacksonville, Don Pedro’s Bar, and Chinese Camp.

Tuolumne County

Schools & District Boundaries

Board of Education 

Trustee Areas

Area 1: Sonora Elementary School District except for a portion south of Highway 108, and excluding the Mill Villa, Gibbs Estates, and Valponi Acres area.

Area 2:  Columbia and Belleview School Districts.

Area 3:  Summerville High District, Summerville Elementary School District, and a portion of Soulsbyville School District south of Highway 108.

Area 4:  Big Oak Flat-Groveland Unified School District and a portion of Curtis Creek School District south of Highway 108.

Area 5:  Jamestown School district and the portion of the Sonora Elementary School District within the Mill Villa, Gibbs, and Valponi precincts.

Area 6: Twain Harte School District.

Area 7: Portions of Curtis Creek and Soulsbyville Elementary School Districts north of Highway 108.

Visit the Tuolumne County Board of Education section of our website for more information on the board’s role in Tuolumne County Education.